Wandering daughter

(wow, it’s all pouring out at the moment…)

I’ve just begun watching the Japanese anime of Hourou Musuko (originally a manga serial – known in English as Wandering Son). It’s about a boy and a girl in Japanese middle school who are both transgender, and how that pans out for them with their friends, family, classmates – you know, in actual life.

I was in no way expecting it to have the impact on me that it is having.

The reason why it’s having such a powerful effect is because both of them are there. I’m still trying to get the hang of this, but the woman I am is desperate not to be forced to be feminine, so having these two in the series help each other really moves me. I want to be an adventurer, explorer, performer, someone strong… Amelia Earhart was one of my childhood heroes (using that word in a broad, gender-free way). So was Xena, and now it’s Heather Peace. So here they all are, in their glory :).

7 comments on “Wandering daughter

  1. Kira says:

    Wandering Son is my favorite Manga / Anime. The story is so close to my heart and touches me deeply.

    • womandrogyne says:

      I’m still pretty new to manga/anime, apart from Studio Ghibli stuff, and having read the Nausicäa books (which are amazing). I’ve only watched the first ep of Wandering Son so far, and the thing that’s affecting me most is them having each other, understanding each other, helping each other.

      Perhaps because of my tomboyishness, I’ve always felt better understood by trans men than by most trans women. My closest trans friend is a man, and our experiences are way more similar than mine are with those of the women in my trans support group.

      I’m looking forward to watching the rest of this.

      • Kira says:

        If you get the chance, read the manga, it begins with the kids in elementary school and gives you all the background that is only hinted at in the anime. There is so much going on under the surface of their relationships.
        I think you will really enjoy the anime even more once you have the complete story. 🙂

      • womandrogyne says:

        I’d like to, because I found it hard to keep track of who was who for quite a lot of the time in the anime, the story was so telescoped – Nausicäa was the same. Of course, there are 13 books and it’s not over yet, and they’re around £13 a pop – so unless my local library has them, I may have to give it a miss :).

      • Kira says:

        I understand that, even for me, they are rather expensive and I’m buying them in the hard cover editions. I have the first two and plan to buy the third soon, four is on pre-order.

      • womandrogyne says:

        Heh, I just caved in and did some ordering myself – they’re on offer at The Forbidden Planet just now :).

      • Kira says:

        🙂 Yeah! 🙂

Leave a Reply

